Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The dawn of air and sea travel has allowed people to migrate to different parts of the world at will. Even though this is a welcome development, I strongly agree that residing in a country where a different language is spoken can be challenging. This essay would discuss some of the language-related issues that can be encountered in a foreign country. There are several different languages in the world today, while learning some of these might sound interesting, living in some of the countries may be overwhelming because of the language barrier. The difficulty in communication poses a serious problem as one would not be able to interact and connect with the people hence, leading to loneliness and depression. For example, research has shown that one of the major problems faced by foreign students in the UK is the inability to establish relationships due to problems with communication. This usually makes their stay less enjoyable and can result in the reduction of self-confidence which is very detrimental. Furthermore, assessing healthcare as well as and making transactions are practical issues that can occur from dialect differences. On the other hand, while residing in a different country can cause some social issues, some good things can come out of it. For instance, learning a different language can enhance ones career because the majority of big companies of today require their employees to be bilingual. To conclude, although some merits can be associated with living in a place where a different dialect is spoken, I concur that this can have negative impacts on an individual.