Prison is the best punishment for criminals Discuss both views

It is true that prison as the best way of punishment is becoming a hot issue nowadays. There is a genuine concern that jail is the most effective solution to punish criminals. The advocates of this view believe that prisons are essential. Others, however, disagree and think that imprisonment is not useful and other measures should be adopted instead. To begin with, those in favour of imprisonment have valid reasons to be concerned about the fortune and the rehabilitation of offenders. Unless law-breakers are kept in a prison as an inmate, the victims are not safe enough from harm. Besides, many jails let jailbirds study there and get a degree in sociology and psychology and etc. This makes them better as a community. As a consequence, most inmates avoid coming into contact with the law again. Nevertheless, there are many people who would argue that prison is not the best answer and criminals should be punished in other ways. Keeping a person who committed petty crimes like vandalism, tax evasion and so on means not tackling but causing a bigger problem. Indeed, the individual can adapt really poor behaviour from dangerous murderers, thefts, killers. Additionally, many prisons today let inmates have luxuries such as video games, TVs and entertainment which are an inadequate form of punishment, instead it is too costly for the government. In terms of another, solution people who broke the law should be compelled to pay a huge amount of money. To conclude, although prisoning has some drawbacks, it is the most beneficial remedy for those who committed an offence. The way I see it, it is important since some populations can't be allowed to roam free in our society.