Social media is becoming increasingly popular almost all age groups however sharing personal information on social media website does have risk do you think that the advantages of social media overweight disadvantages

Although the popularity of social media among all ages of people is increasing significantly, sharing private information on social media is risky. I personally believe that despite the risk of leaking personal and sensitive information to people, the benefits of social media outweigh the drawbacks, because it helps connect people around the world. Social media helps to share personal information among friends, families, and even unknown persons. It brings risks because people sometimes share personal information with each other, without knowing the risks behind it. The young generation sometimes shares their personal photos, and videos, with their loved ones, which gets leaked, and brings severe mental suffering to them. For example, in India, a 17-year-old girl shared her intimate photos with her boyfriend, and after their break up, the boyfriend published and shared that photo with others via social media. That incident leads to a serious mental breakdown of that girl. However, I believe that this case is not applicable always, if proper measures can be taken, this type of incident can be avoided. Social media provides good opportunities for connecting with people around the world. People can even meet and befriend people outside their communities and culture. Through social media, people can easily send messages, and talk with others, therefore, social media has made communication easier. It helps people to share their culture, values, beliefs, and ideas with each other, which increases the sense of solidarity among nations. People can learn about the opinions, and views of others, and can share their ones as well. For example, through Facebook, at least 10 billion people are connected with each other, and share their thoughts, and that promotes global solidarity, peace and unity. To conclude, social media brings people from all age groups together, however, it has some risks. People can connect with each other, but, there are risks of leaking sensitive information.