The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risk. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people think the media should reduce the amount of bad news because it deters many people from engaging in activities. However, other people disagree with that idea, because bad news makes people vigilant of their surroundings, and pay attention to things that happen in different regions. It is good if people are mindful before doing something and concerned about some events in other places. From my point of view, I am partially in favor of the thought that the media are responsible for the input of bad news and controlling some negative information moderately. Some people are opposed to deleting some bad news due to the necessity. For example, some people who intend to travel abroad can learn about the news about their destinations through the media. As a result, people could prepare for the contingencies that events may bring about. In addition, negative information can make people take stock of potential risks they face and eventually decisions. Besides, those bad news can be regarded as educational functions to some degree. For instance, the occurrences, as well as causes of carbon dioxide intoxication, have been transmitted by various media, whereby viewers or listeners can learn a lesson and consequently, prevent this type of tragedy. Conversely, other people suggest children or unmatured-mind people receive too much negative transmission from the media. Besides, some media exaggerate incidents as more sensational and shocking than original facts and the overblown narration by the anchor will horrify some people. For example, the media regularly relates a variety of negative news about societal issues, such as car accidents or traffic disputes, which may bring about pernicious effects on people who have not learn driving yet, like some of them would not even dare to attempt taking up this stuff after watching plenty of accidents from the television. In conclusion, as they say, “Too much is as bad as too little”. We should acquire bad news, but at the same time, I think the media should pay attention to the minority of people's benefits and restrict the amount of bad news to some extent, given to the public in case those exaggerated concerns could mislead people and as a result, it may restrain people's possibilities.