Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this competitive era, everyone would like to get rewards so that they feel more enthusiasm to perform well. Although rewards are beneficial to some students for kind of work, but not for everyone. Are gifts work outweighing punishments for performance? I would agree to the larger extent with this statement. My reason for the notion is justified in the ensuing paragraph of the essay. To start with, giving rewards to the individuals often led them to better academic performance rather than trying to encourage them by giving punishments. This is because, if pupils feel that their hard work will pay them off by getting present from school, then they would attempt hard to improve their grades than others. For example, the Dilworth school in Melbourne started a new scheme for the students that top five rankers of each class will be represented in the final convocation as scholars and will be rewarded by the principal of the school and surprisingly overall school results improved by 48% compared to the previous one. Secondly, sometimes students increase their efficiency in the academic sector just for not being punished by teachers. This means that, while students often felt that if they can perform well just to avoid punishment then if work a little bit hard then they also will be rewarded, this way they brought motivation. For instance, a scientist name skinner developed a reinforcement theory which suggests that people often perform better if their work will be rewarded by someone else also mentioned that rewards for individuals’ performance do not always work because this creates a competitive atmosphere between peers as everyone wants to get rewarded their performance and do not want their clique to do better and this resulted selfishness. To conclude, I firmly support, students often do well if their work is rewarded though it boosts their enthusiasm for better performance and encourages them by looking at someone else performance and punishment is not an appropriate way to deal with it.