In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout the world have debated that there is increasing health issue among people due to the consumption of convenience food and that can be controlled by imposing high duties on such foods. This essay completely disagrees with the statement. In my opinion, the government must create health awareness programs and promote healthy food habits among everyone. This essay will demonstrate my viewpoints with relevant examples. Firstly, fast foods are cheap and easy to cook. This means to say that people often work full-time and love to have pre-prepared meals because it does not require more time to prepare. In addition, chemical preservatives were added to preserve such foods from spoiling which has negative consequences on our health. For instance, 60% of people including young children are reported under obesity problems. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the government to create awareness among people by promoting health campaigns that motivate people to do regular exercise. Secondly, the authority should take an action to ban unhealthy food items. This is because most of the packaged junk foods are not displaying the nutrient value so that masses are not aware of the mineral content available in such foods. Furthermore, imposing high tariffs will not have a significant effect in this contemporary era because we are all living a sedentary lifestyle. In addition, the government should promote a healthy lifestyle by inculcating civilians to have at least three servings of vegetables and four servings of fruits every day. Finally, they should add more room for sporting activities in the school curriculum which will improve the health and well-being of everyone. To conclude, although there are no significant benefits of placing high taxes on fast food, the health issues due to packaged food can be minimised by enforcing more health campaigns, restricting the consumption of unhealthy food items, and promoting more sports activities.