Some people believe nowadays there are too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Modern society has witnessed tremendous shifts in almost all aspects of the crowd's lives. Against this backdrop, many have argued that today's individuals are facing preferences with an unbearable number. Personally, I tend to disagree with this. It is admittedly that the booming technologies have allowed for increasing options for current consumers. Companies of various fields all compete for providing a wider variety of products to customers so as to survive and thrive in the business world. Every year, new goods and services are updated and the market is crammed with commodities of different brands or with varied selling points, despite the same functions. The mass media is another contributing factor to the abundance of opportunities. Advertisements or KOLs utilize TV or the Internet as the platform to attract viewers by impressing them with dazzling kinds of lifestyles or philosophies, each of which seems to be wise and good enough to follow. However, facing so many seemingly appealing opportunities, recipients are very likely to be so confused that they find it almost impossible to make a choice. Apart from that, the reality is that modern folks have far fewer alternatives for themselves on major occasions of their lives. This sounds quite counter-intuitive, but the fixed standards of society often leave the population with very limited choices. For example, a child born in an ordinary family is invariably told to attend school, working hard to meet the academic criteria; after finishing the schooling, they are expected to find a decent and well-paid job. Then it is time to get married and raise the next generation. It is a 'normal' and 'safe' pattern of life, and under such a pattern, a sudden thought of leaving school to travel or refusing to enter in marriage can be considered rebellious and even dangerous, and face immediate criticism from others even in some societies which have a reputation of open-mindedness and diversity. In conclusion, I believe that the public living in today's world do not really have as many privileges as they seem to do, and they still refrain from making decisions for themselves due to some single evaluation standards.