Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that high school should make voluntary community service a compulsory program. While i accept that such service can be beneficial, I believe enforcing it makes no sense. It is true that participation in community service has its value. For one, unpaid community service helps high school students better understand citizenship. Teenagers are in a critical period when their characters are being built. Voluntary activities enable them to have a better idea of how their small acts positively influence others so that they will have a stronger sense of responsibility. For another, their social skills develop by joining in voluntary activities. Interacting with diverse populations: Community service often involves working with individuals from different backgrounds, cultures, and age groups. This exposure to diversity helps students develop their interpersonal skills and learn how to communicate effectively with people who may have different perspectives and experiences. It promotes understanding, empathy, and the ability to work collaboratively in a multicultural society. For example, being a volunteer in a nursing home helps them learn to be a good listener. By distributing toys and food to impoverished people in a local church, they get to have more empathy for others’ situations. However, it is unreasonable to make community service a graduation requirement. In particular, the benefits of such service mentioned above are over-exaggerated. A high school student usually will not put their heart into doing community service projects once forced to do so. It is highly likely that they will end up gaining little benefits from these activities. Alternatively, compulsion can be counterproductive. Teenagers are often rebellious and do not want to do what they are told. Once enforced, unpaid community service will leave a terrible impression. This will turn them against future participation. In conclusion, although there are reasons to believe that unpaid community programs have a positive influence, my view is that it is unwise to regard them as criteria to judge whether a high school student is eligible to graduate.