Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think that governments should invest their money in railways instead of roads. I strongly disagree with this opinion and this essay will discuss it. On the one hand, governments might spend their money on building and developing railways for some reasons. First of all, trains could transport not only humans, animals but also goods and raw materials which would save a lot of money. As a result, governments could use their money to erict or renovate the train line systems. Secondly, travellers could find it more comfortable and affordable when taking a train. Because moving on the train lines will be certainly smooth and passengers can also take a break and look outside when they are in the train. In addition, travelling by trains might be the most inexpensive which compared to other kinds of vehicles such as air planes, cars, and motorbikes. On the other hand, I believe that investing in roads would be more necessary for a couple of reasons. To begin with, governments can use their money to expand the streets or construct the highways. Therefore, it will decrease some problems such as traffic jams or accidents in the chaotic cities, as a result, residents could commute to office or go to school by their own vehicles more easily. Besides, there are a plenty of people who often walk to work or go shopping, thus, they will not need to travel by trains. Therefore, it would be unworthy to invest in the railways. To sum up, it is not true that governments ought to spend a lot of money on railways, they also need to invest in traffic infrastructures to help people to travel easily.