In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, individuals prefer to buy from mega malls rather than to buy things from small stores, and there are several reasons behind this development. In the past years, a lot of outlets have closed due to the reason for the mall trend. In my view, this is a positive development, and I am going to elaborate my views in the forthcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, there are plethora of reasons to choose mall culture over local stores. First and foremost, a mall provides the facility to purchase anything under one roof, whether it is a household item or a car. Therefore, people prefer to buy their belongings from a mall rather than to purchase from a local shop; however, there are some certain urgent requirements which cannot be fulfilled by them, such as milk. Moreover, a mall has various kinds of amusement and dinning options. This is a place where people spend their spare time with their family and friends, and enjoy varieties of meals and play games. Furthermore, a facility to provide freedom of selection while shopping. For instance, an individual can choose and try any outfit as much as they can, that can be possible only in a mall. Thus, these facilities make the mall culture trending. On the other hand, there are some negative aspects of this trend that influence local shopkeepers. Firstly, in a city, street shops are the only option for many retailers for their bread and butter. A lot of shopkeepers depend on the income which comes from their retailing business, and these mega centers affect their business and this source of income. For example, a small vendor of clothes faces loss because of the mall outlets where people can choose a variety of clothes along with a price range. Besides this, if the recommended price is high, an individual can bargain for the product, and this can be possible at a street store. Hence, these challenges can be faced by local shopkeepers due to this mall trend. In the final analysis, despite the fact that large shopping centres affect local market retailers, but it helps people to purchase in a single building and also provides freedom of selection with other fun-loving activities. For this reason, I am convinced that mall culture is a positive development in general.