There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is known to be true that noise pollution is becoming more and more problematic in many parts of the world, especially in urban areas. This essay will suggest that overpopulation and lack of trees are the root causes of this phenomenon, and submit that a public awareness campaign is the most viable solution. One of the primary reasons why cities are getting more rowdy than ever before is overcrowding. Due to many benefits that those metropolises have to offer, such as more job opportunities and higher life standards, many people flock to these places, resulting in more vehicle demand and more establishments. Ha Noi - the capital city of Viet Nam, for example, contains over 8 millions people. Aside from amazing cuisine, the city is known to be one of the most polluted cities in the world, with noise pollution being the main type of pollution. Bizarrely enough, the fact that urban areas are having insufficient number of trees is also another cause that is downplayed by most people. Research has shown that a 10 metres -wide tree can absorb up to 30% of sound intensity, meaning that vegetation is actually one of the best natural noise reducers. Therefore, a lack of trees in large and crowded cities will certainly worsen noise pollution. The most practical solution to this problem is a government sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could really warn of the dangers of noise pollution, and hopefully raise awareness amongst the public. For example, the United Kingdom recently encouraged their citizens to go to work by bikes instead of cars. This has resulted in a dramatic decline in the sound level of the country. In summary, the increase of noise in crowded cities results from overpopulation and lack of trees. However, this can be tackled through a public programme that promotes good habits that reduce noise level.