In the developed world, the average life expectance is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact ageing populations?

People in advanced nations are expected to live longer than ever before. The average life expectancy of developed societies has rapidly increased in the last decade. Although there will be some negative impacts associated with this shit, societies can take steps to diminish these effects. The ageing population will bring about rising costs to society. As the senior citizen population increases, society's tax burden will also rise. For instance, if a large amount of the community is elderly and retired, pension costs and taxes will increase, thus creating a burden for younger tax-paying individuals. Additionally, older members of society will require more specialized health care, which will bring about higher medical costs due to increased demand. However, both the government and individuals can take some steps to mitigate these problems. Firstly, an increase in the retirement age can offset increasing pension costs for older generations. If citizens are able to retire later, government-funded retirements plans and taxes would not rise. Moreover, this will create ample time and opportunity for senior workers to pass on knowledge and help train younger employees in their respective fields. Promoting health care programs and initiatives could also alleviate potential risks for the aforementioned problems. If the healthcare industry better prepares for the increase in ageing populations, the potential problem of higher healthcare costs can be avoided. For example, by promoting advances in medical programs, older generations may be able to live with better health standards and contribute to society for a longer period of time. These medical advances would also help future generations as they get older. Various measures can be taken in order to tackle the potential problems associated with an increase in life expectancy. It is crucial that both individuals and governments work together in this venture.