Today different kinds of advertising influence our life. Do the negative effects of this development outweigh the positive?

Advertisement has recently been inevitable to see from conventional TV commercials to new online adverts. There is a contentious argument whether this phenomenon is beneficial or detrimental. I personally believe that this is an advantageous development. It cannot be disregarded that there are some drawbacks of seeing advertisements everywhere. First of all, these ads are recognised by potential customers subconsciously and they might purchase the products that are repeatedly shown to you without considering if that item is really necessary for them. For instance, billboards on roads and web banners which advertise cigarettes can convince people to buy them at the subconscious level or at least interest the public in tobacco. Furthermore, there might be email fraud or scam websites, hidden among many appropriate adverts, to try to deceive people. On the other hand, it is indeed true that there are some benefits to put advertisements. The most significant upside of ads being placed on television or YouTube videos would be financial support from benefactors. These are free contents that allow everyone who has certain equipment and the internet to watch them without any limitations as sponsors pay for the cost of creating and maintaining these contents instead of viewers. In addition to this, if advertisements are everywhere, people can obtain information regarding new products and alternative options related to what they need. In summary, although there ate some risks of putting adverts everywhere, the benefits of free content and information are huge and therefore, widely spread adverts would be an important part of our lives.