Nowadays, celebrities earn more money than the politicians do. What are the reasons for this? Is it a negative or a positive development?

In this day age, income of celebrities is higher than politicians. There are many reasons for this trend. Some say it is a negative development, however, I view this pattern a positive one. I will discuss both the reasons and my prespective this pattern. Today, celebrities have many ways to earn money. With the advancement of technology, it is becoming easier to produce movies and distributing them through numerous channels. Previously, movies that was distributed internationally were mainly from English speaking countries. Netflix, for instance, have now allowed movies to be distributed world-wide, coming from different countries. In addition, prior to the rise of internet specifically the use of social media, adds that were mainly available in televisions, radios and newspapers, now are available in facebooks, instragram, snap chat. As a result, celebrities with millions of followers gain's traction from companies to use them as promotors of their products. The reason why I see that this is as a positive trend is because a majority of the money that the politician receive during campaigns usually comes from companies. Companies support politician's campaign to pave their way to ensure future policies in favour of their business, occasionally policies that negatively impacting society. For example, Enron, the oil and gas company, is known to support one of the US President campany and many policies were in support of that sector. It is not to say that all politicians are poor and in need of external funding. Nevertheless, we should be observant of politicians with significant amount of money. In summary, the trend of increased income for celebrities and overcoming the earnings of politicians is coming from the multiple channels that technology advancement have generated. Furthermore, I see this as a positive development, hopefully providing signals for voters to be concious of politicians who have more money than celebrities, asking the source of income as one of the criteria before choosing them.