Some employees want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

The main advantage of being able to contact staff enables employees to address urgent work-related issues. With this ability, organisations can enhance customer satisfaction and competitive edge in the market. For example, a company’s immediate response to a customer issue during a holiday can increase loyalty and strengthen its reputation for extra service. As a result, the customer feels valued and appreciated, building up trust towards the brand. On the other hand, one of the major disadvantages is that workers will feel overwhelmed which poses significant challenges. By way of explanation, it blurs the boundaries between work and personal life, leading to heightened stress levels, and physical and mental health. For instance, according to the Local Democracy Reporting Service, it is found that 23% of the staff found their work emotionally exhausting. In addition to that, continuous contact may crack the family plan, especially for working parents. People could have plans after a hard day, nevertheless, receiving texts or calls from their directors for additional work. However, if the person is busy with their family and can’t text back, as a result, the boss is disappointed and employees might even lose their jobs. In conclusion, the drawbacks are of greater significance than the merits. Despite the fact that fulfilling the consumer’s needs will create a positive brand image, employees may find an unfavourable lifestyle and productivity due to workloads.