Some older people struggle with the use of modern electronic technology, such as smartphones and computers. What are the reasons, give solutions?

It is not uncommon to see the older generation finding it difficult to use modern technological gadgets such as mobile phones, tablets and laptops. This is largely a result of their lack of familiarity with the recent technological advancements. Despite being a grave issue, it can be effectively solved by them getting relevant help from the younger generation along with the display of guiding tutorials on television. To start with, the contemporary era is that of technological development. Owing to the fact that elderly people belong to an age of less advancement in this field, it is obvious of them to be highly non-familiar with the usage of latest gadgets of modern times. This results in them trying not only to avoid using them but depending on youngsters for operating them as well; for example, according to a recent survey conducted in the US, a larger percentage of elderly stated not being comfortable as the primary reason for not using technology. Hence, if the causes of older people struggling to use cellphones and computers are considered, it is their lack of acquaintance with technology that tops the list. Although this is a serious problem, it is absolutely plausible to resolve it effectively by the younger generation cooperating with their elders in this regard. Moreover, awareness seminars to educate the elderly regarding the use of smartphones and laptops ought to be arranged on a monthly or bimonthly basis. Not only this, since the elderly generation belongs to the times when only radio and television were popular, it is imperative that tutorials teaching the use of gadgets can be displayed on tv. For instance, a programme featuring the use of various software and the internet is being broadcast on national television in Pakistan; therefore, if these measures are adequately taken, the problem of older people struggling with the usage of modern gadgets would gradually be mitigated. In conclusion, senior citizens struggle to use the equipment of this era attributing to the fact that they are less equipped with knowledge regarding these devices. The situation can however be improved by the government organising mass awareness campaigns and depicting various tutorials on different tv channels for their guidance.