Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that learning a foreign language is important in education. Therefore, it is the opinion of some experts that it is better for children to start learning a foreign language at elementary school rather than high school. In my opinion, I believe that the advantages of this statement outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, the first possible downside of this development is that learning a foreign language in primary school may be a burden on some students. This is because there are some students who prefer to focus on learning their native language, which may require a lot of time and effort to learn. For example, young Chinese students find it difficult to learn another language because they already struggle with their native language. Another downside is that learning a foreign language might affect students gain in other important subjects. The reason for this is that learning basic subjects such as Mathematics is a priority in primary schools. Thus, some students might not be able to fully understand these important subjects. Having said that, the first advantage of this development is that if children learn a foreign language in primary schools, this will be beneficial for them in the long run. This is because when children learn the basics and rules of a language in this age, they are more likely to memorize what they learned easily for the rest of their lives. For instance, in my country, the students who study the English language in primary school are usually the ones to score high marks in that subject, and a lot of them were able to find better job opportunities later on. What is more, learning a foreign language at the primary education level can broaden students ' horizons. To illustrate this, when students learn a foreign language, this will help them understand other countries’ cultures. As a result, they will gain a sense of creativity. To conclude, while there are a few disadvantages of this development such as it can be a burden on those who focus on studying their native language, it is my opinion that the advantages are more significant because it is the best time for students to learn a foreign language and can broaden their horizons.