Some people think that city planner should consider creating more green spaces and planting trees, while others argue that they should focus on building new homes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are in favour that more green spaces and plantations should be emphasized by city planners, while others claim that more attention should be given to building new houses. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why urban sustainability carries great importance. However, building new homes has its own value because the population keeps rising and so do the number of residential properties. Firstly, the urban planning authority feels a need to expand the city in order to accommodate more people. For example, as China is the most populous country in the world, therefore, the nation plans to restructure its existing lands for the construction of future homes. Secondly, the current world’s population demands more personal properties due to which the governments are also launching affordable new housing schemes. On the other hand, sustainable urban infrastructure is crucial for the environment. As Planet Earth is facing climate change due to numerous reasons such as industrialization in cities, deforestation, glaciers’ melting, increased concentration in Greenhouse Gas Emissions (GHGs), and so forth, it becomes imperative for the city developers to introduce massive planting activities across the country as well as establishing green spaces such as the public parks in order to curb climate change. For instance, many countries are creating urban forests to improve air quality and remove excess carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. Countries like Singapore has already become a model for ‘Sustainable Cities’. To conclude, the concept of green buildings is already being implemented across the globe now. This essay discussed why developing new housings has its own benefits, but why having trees and sustainably designed green places are ultimately superior for both people and the environment. After a thorough analysis on this subject, regions must focus on climate-friendly urban planning.