In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

There is no doubt that children are motivated to have a competition with each other in some cultures of many countries. This phenomenon has several benefits and drawbacks which will be explained in this essay. Firstly, one positive impact from competing environments is children's creativity and skills are fully maximized. To begin with, children who get used to competing circumstances are automatically will try to give their best. Competing with each other would make them to show their best version since plenty of praise and even presents will be achieved by their parents and teachers if they could be the best of the best. Furthermore, in this modern world, if they could be the winner of the competition in the province level or even in country, their name and achievement will be displayed in the media. Take my friend as an example, she manages herself until the national level as an Olympic finalist. As a result, tons of praise and gifts were gotten both from schools and families. On the other hand, serious mental health would have happened if children are forced constantly from both parents who probably be demanding and teachers who are more likely to want to push the limits of the students. As a result, more and more children are having mental health. For example, South Korea experiences a huge number of students that commit suicide due to the massive competition between students. Moreover, they are most likely do not have a social life as their lives are only about the study. To sum up, a competitive environment could make every child be the best version of themselves, however, if the pressure is given every time, it could affect their physio problems. Therefore, there must be balance between one and another.