In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In some countries, the growth of the economy should be considered the first priority for policymakers. The main benefits of this are a lower unemployment rate and the development of international trade. However, the key drawbacks are an unfriendly environment and an unhealthy lifestyle.  It cannot be denied that enhancing the financial situation, governments need to provide more career opportunities for everyone in order to reduce the number of unemployed. They have to prevent their population from being jobless because this is a major obstacle to the development of the national economy. If people have suitable jobs, they will have enough money to increase spending on things they desire, which is one of the most effective ways to stimulate economic growth. Moreover, this policy improves sales productivity, especially for export products. The state makes better progress in trading by reducing taxes to encourage people to run more businesses. For example, last year, when the Thai government decided to broaden their international trade, there was a significant increase in export rates. Nevertheless, when the state's priority is the economy, its policies are not concerned about the effects on the environment. The development of industrial factories brings more pollution to the community. A huge amount of carbon dioxide emitted from manufacturing plants not only destroys the earth's atmosphere but also increases the temperature. In addition, people tend to face more health problems because they have to work overtime in order to make more money to support their government's policy. They have less time for exercise or relaxation. For instance, in Bangkok, even though the average income is higher, people are suffering from stress.  In conclusion, putting economic growth as the first priority not only decreases the number of unemployed but also expands national trade. Nonetheless, this endangers the environment and destroys people's work-life balance.