Do you believe that self-driving cars will become common in the near future? Why or why not? Support your answer with reasons and expamles from your own knowledge or experience.

Self-driving cars are vehicles that do not require human control. Perhaps because of its comfort is a reason those cars with auto-steering wheels will become common in the foreseeable future. However, I do not absolutely agree with that. Firstly, the most important thing is brought by autonomous cars is safety. According to the statistic, over 90 per cent of traffic accidents are caused by human error, a problem that self-driving cars eliminate. On contrary to human drivers, robot cars are not easily distracted, do not fall asleep at the wheel, and do not drive at unsafe speeds. Thus, more driverless cars on the road mean fewer collisions. Furthermore, an added advantage is that these cars are able to use GPS to find the quickest route, detect delays and accidents. This not only results in quicker trips but also in a reduction of emissions, much of which is generated by cars sitting in traffic. Despite the above benefits, using cars without human adjustment also have their critics, of course. One significant disadvantage is that the convenience of self-driving cars for individuals could lead to more cars on the road. This certainly contributes to traffic congestion. Moreover, in my opinion, a fully autonomous car would need to have a human's ability to identify and predict the behaviour of different objects on the road. A pedestrian, a bicycle, for instance, each act indifferent and often unpredictable ways. To summarize, therefore, self-driving cars are becoming closed in our life, but I sense a normal car is always a reliable choice.