Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, the government has proposed reducing transport pollution by investing in the public transport system and lowering ticket prices. I agree with this statement because investing in transportation systems will provide convenient public transport, and people tend to use public transportation when it is cheaper. To begin with, investing in public transportation will help reduce pollution. Creating a more convenient public transport system, such as easy access to tickets (online) and integration between trains and buses, will make it the first choice for people. For example, Jakarta currently has several public transportation options that are integrated with each other. People know exactly where the stations or terminals are located and can track the schedule for departures and arrivals, which is beneficial for them. If civilians use public transportation, it will also reduce traffic congestion. In addition, reducing ticket prices will contribute to pollution reduction. Pollution from cars or motorcycles significantly contributes to air pollution in particular areas, according to Harvard Research in 2022. Attracting people to use public transportation by reducing ticket prices will be successful and gain support from some stakeholders. The government should address this situation and collaborate with other entities (State-Owned Enterprises, Economic Departments, and Transportation Departments). Thus, making public transportation prices affordable or even cheaper than using a single vehicle will impact pollution reduction. In conclusion, reducing pollution from transportation in the future is achievable. Attracting people to use public transportation by offering cheaper prices and making it convenient are key reasons for success. The government must be supported by key stakeholders to succeed in this initiative.