Nowadays tourism often leads to environmental destruction. Why is this the case? What are the consequences? How to solve this problem?

Nowadays, it is believed that tourism often exerts severe effects on the environment. There are a host of reasons behind this issue, and several solutions should be adopted to address this problem. The first rationale is that more tourists would lead to more garbage, noise and exhaust fumes. As a result, they are likely to cause environmental problems such as air pollution, water pollution and soil pollution. In addition, due to the development of tourism, many facilities could be constructed excessively by deforestation and demolishing nature, namely mountains, beaches and rivers, thus destroying the habitats of animals and creating soil erosion and flood. In order to mitigate the aforementioned issues, various actions could be taken. The first measure is to increase punishment and be more strictly supervised by surveillance cameras. Take Singapore as an example, if people litter, they would face a heavy fine, therefore its city is remarkably clear and clean. Another viable solution is that the authority should seriously control the construction. That means building projects could be evaluated carefully on how they affect the environment and disapproved if they have an adverse influence on nature. And the last essential action is to raise people’s awareness of environmental protection which has close connections with long term benefits by public media and community events. In conclusion, the consequences of tourism can be ascribed to two reasons which are the pollutant release and excessive construction, and this issue can be dealt with by a joint effort of government, residents and tourists as well.