The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

Nowadays, video games, television and smartphone has become very common in our daily life. In this recent of year, children prefer playing video games or watching videos rather than reading books. Due to this situation, the number of children that read books for pleasure has a sharp decline in those few years. This essay discusses the reason why children dislike reading books and how to solve this problem. The most notable reason why the rate of children reading books has gone down is due to digital technology. Digital technology can bring us lots of fun rather than reading books. For example, if I am a child, I have an hour of taking a break before having a class, I would definitely choose to watch a video on the internet rather than reading navels. Therefore, in recent years, children are not used to reading long paragraphs or lots of words, they are used to watching videos or pictures. Also, They have no patient in reading words or books. To solve this problem, the best way is to let children get used to reading words. For example, let children read picture books or some comic books to let them get interested in reading. In addition, try to stop children from playing video games or smartphones all day long while setting some time for reading books. The most important thing is to let children understand the joy of reading books. In conclusion, it is not surprised that children are not reading books as much as before, whereas the reason for this is that technology productions are more interesting than books and they have no patient in reading words unless we let children know reading book is fun.