Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solutions are there to this problem?

In the world today, global warming is one of the major problems that threaten our existence. While there are several causes that are mostly man-made, some possible solutions are also available to tackle them. This essay will discuss some of the reasons why we are currently experiencing climate change as well as offer some practical ways to solve them. On the one hand, the major cause of climate change is the burning of fossil fuels which is our main source of energy. This is generated by burning harmful chemical substances that emit carbon monoxide into the air consequently, leading to diseases especially respiratory-related. Furthermore, 90% of cars produced in the last decade are powered by petrol and with the number of vehicles on the road emitting such dangerous gases steadily, one can not help but wonder about the environmental and health hazard we are imposing on ourselves. For example,in the eastern part of Nigeria, studies have shown that 75% of the air is made up of carbon monoxide, which is obvious by way of the black soot on windscreens of cars in that area. On the other hand, encouraging the use of alternative sources of energy such as solar or wind is a way to tackle this problem. These substitutes have been proven to be less harmful and eco-friendly. For instance, solar is generated from the sun which occurs naturally hence,completely eliminating the need for the rigorous and dangerous process of producing fuel. Additionally, inventing electric cars would also help our environment. Some companies such as Ford have already put plans to ensure that by 2027 all their car would be electric. In conclusion, global warming is affecting our lives in diverse and dangerous ways. If steps such as encouraging the usage of solar or wind energy and producing electric cars are not taken promptly to ensure that things do not get out of hand, it may eventually become impossible to live on this planet.