You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? You should write at least 250 words.

Regulation is the foundation of a community. When freedom without any restriction is allowed, it will essentially break down the whole system of staying together as a group. I fully agree with the statement, because there might be people of harmful mentality within society, and also without laws there will be no specific goals to stick together. Every person is different from each other from a psychological point of view. Some may find things interesting, which are not necessarily good for others. For example, a lot of people like to smoke a cigarette which is harmful to their own bodies and also for the people surrounding them. Thankfully, like many other countries of the world, in Bangladesh a law has been enacted to ban smoking in public places which boosted the greater good. If there was no way to restrict them, then others would try to move to somewhere else for a better atmosphere. So, legislation is essential to prohibit people who may try to harm society with their deeds. People live life due to inner motivation. If there is no goal, then there is no motivation to live in a certain group. Legislations help to put the overall goals of a nation into a specific perspective, which helps to specifically know what to expect from a certain community. For instance, we all know the negative implications of violence, but every country has their own specific set of regulations to define those. If there were no set rules, then it would be really hard to identify what action should be treated as violence. As a result individuals would feel confused and lose the inspiration to live in that country and probably move to a new place where there are specific reliefs. That’s why rules are necessary to keep everyone inspired by having specific objectives in front of them. To sum up, people only stay together when they know the common objectives of the society, which is only possible by having a certain set of rules and regulations. Without laws, individuals would be harmed by acts of other people and also feel less motivated to stay in the group.