Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

In this modern era, the world rate in developing countries are tremendously increasing, some individuals advocate that, we should adopt to genetically modified crops to raise the productivity of supplies. In this essay, firstly will examine some of the benefits of modern plantation, and in second half and negative aspects will be discussed. I will start by looking at the advantages, one of the major benefit is surplus food production. Hence, not a single child or person suffers from starvation, that is the basic need of every individual. Moreover, this genetic engineering vegitation helps in crop production irrespective of climate changes. For instance, the tropical fruits like mangos are usually present in the summer season but, due to this advanced technology these unseasonable fruits are also available in other seasons as well. Additionally, the GM method increases the productivity of 20 times, therefore, the economy of the country also increases because of export business. Hence, these genes crop production approach is extremely beneficial in many aspects. On the other hand, this modern method of crop production possess many drawbacks. One among them is lack of nutritional value. As this genetic process uses pesticides and chemicals for rapid crop production, the quality and healthy nutrients are reducing. Thus, creating health issues. For example, in India people faced some allergic reactions because of eating unseasonable foods. Also, the taste of product is not as good as compared to traditionally grown product. If we are shifting to new method of production, then, we must have to compromise on taste, nutritional value and so on. To conclude, there are both positive and negative aspects. Inspite of that, I personally believe that, engineers must bring the solution to maintain the quality along with modern technology.