Students today can access information online, so libraries are not necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree? no less than 250 words

It can be said that advancement in technology has opened our world to diverse opportunities such as enabling students to retrieve information from the internet, thus,eliminating the usefulness of libraries. I completely disagree with this notion and this essay will elaborate on my standpoint in detail. On the one hand,the internet enables scholars to have access to information from around the world without having to travel. It makes learning easy and faster because they can open different e- libraries at the same time and compare reports, however, this comes with a lot of distraction. Nowadays, we have little or no control over online advertisements as one could pop up while carrying out an important task hence deviating ones attention. This is particularly disturbing because for some individuals it may take longer to regain focus. On the other hand, libraries were created several centuries ago and will take a really long time to be phased out despite the alternative way of accessing data. Reading in the library does not only allow people to concentrate,it is also a conducive environment for learning and can serve as a meeting place for relaxation as well as sharing information with less distraction. Additionally, some of these libraries were built over a hundred years ago, hence, serving as a cultural symbol for the people making them impossible to replace. In conclusion, while the internet serve several purposes like helping students access information remotely, it cannot replace libraries as they serve other purposes such as meeting centres and heritage sites.