Some people believe that providing arms to police will lead to state violence, while others feel that it is essential to maintain law and order. Will the arming of police actually lead to violence and state terrorism? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In a functioning democracy, Law enforcement officers play a vital role.It has been suggested by a few people police-officer should maintain law without using of any kind violence-inducing armoury.I disagree with people who believe law enforcers should not be armed, Furthermore It is of utmost importance for a police officer to have arms if required during an emergency, however there should be an account of the usage of any arm, and punishment if used illegally. There is hardly any democratic country that does not have people who can dangerous to society. Crime is a worldwide problem, It is the role of our Law enforcement officers to keep such people in check, However there might come times where the situation might get out of hand, and might require police to use their arm, Moreover if there is a terrorist group, threatening the lives of many, using the arm to save life seems the best option. For Example on 26th November 2008, We saw a massive terrorist attack on Mumbai, Therefore to save the lives of many Mumbai Police needed to engage with them using weapons. On the other hand, there have been cases of negligence or even hate crimes performed by the officers. Therefore there should be a strict protocol that every officer needs to follow and be punished if found guilty. For example In The USA, during the black lives matter movement, many law enforcers had to go through trials where they were found guilty of using arms without enough reason. In conclusion, I would say, to save the lives of many it's essential for policemen to have a weapon, However they should be accountable if there is misuse.