Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic: News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The daily presentation and selection of the bulletin, be it on paper print or a telecast, is authorized by the news editors. This essay will consider the supreme factors towards these conclusions and will discuss the trend whether it shall be positive or negative. From my perspective, there are two major reasons which dominate the ideas of the editors. To begin with, political interests are the key driver to promote the information, which benefits the nation with a view of development and its position in various sectors globally. Growing GDP, for instance, can depict the correct portray of a nation’s positive financial conditions due to current governance. In continuation, it’s a moral responsibility of every news front to highlight any issues in a developing country. These concerns could be from various fields such as Commerce, Technology, Sports, Trade, Politics, Social, and so on. To cite an example, corruption is more deadly for a raising nation, as it limits the progress and faith of the common people in the government. In my opinion, there are merits and demerits of both the positive and negative news. Firstly, due to the current pandemic situation, the trend of bad news is on the rise. However, these developments are very important for the masses understanding regarding the infection cases in their region, which helps to take necessary precautions. Furthermore, the good news is equally important for people to feel motivated, showcasing more will profoundly add confidence amongst masses to face the situation. For example, a daily report of recovered patients would add more positivity among the people as they are already afraid during these conditions. In conclusion, I would argue that news editors hold command to portray positive or negative news, which is more influenced by political and social factors. However, in my opinion, editing shall be regulated and controlled by the government for the benefit of the nation.