Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think this negatively influences the host country. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Sports are the one common interest that connects people across the nations. Some sections of the society espouse that, countries will greatly get benefits from these events. whereas, others contradict saying it has a negative impact on the locals. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will discuss both views and partially agree with these statements. To begin with, In order to conduct games events and make it successful at the international level requires a huge amount of public funds, efforts and labour force, else it yields a bad reputation. For example, Brazil built big stadiums far away from the cities, just for one occasion and these facilities are eating a sizable amount of capital to maintain without any productivity now. In other words, governments are spending the citizen's hard-earned money through taxes to organize these functions with no return on investment. Moreover, these developments are taken place in one or two locations, without fulfilling the basic needs of people in rural areas. As a result, organizing these events leads to public distress. On the other hand, due to globalization, the world became a global village and all the nations should be part of the progress, to build a brand name at the global level, else they lost in this competitive world and end up in retrogress. Therefore, to get the attention worldwide, sports events provides an opportunity to explore the countries talent at the international level and help in building good relationships with neighbour countries. In addition, it erases cultural barriers and opens up borders to trade and reduce cross-border terrorism. In conclusion, conducting and participating in sports is essential to building a reputed name in this contemporary world. However, nations should mindful of spending public money and take measures to protect the local people interests, else that will lead to economic whiplash.