In many countries, a prison sentence is considered as the best way to decrease crime. However, education is often argued as a more effective way. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The crime rate is increasing rapidly day by day all around the world. As per the law of several countries, imprisonment is the most sought solution to tackle this problem, however others assert literacy is the most viable alternative. This essay will shed light on both views in subsequent paragraphs. There are a number of people who think that offenders should be punished with prison sentences because this phenomenon can inculcate fear in a criminal’s mind. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any crime, it will discourage him from becoming a criminal. Additionally, as per the rules, prisoners must do work inside the jail-like farming, renovation while they are in the prison so that it can arise habit of doing work among them and eliminate all the negativity. However, others believe, providing proper education facilities and employment can solve the issues far more effectively and I agree with them. Sufficient education and job opportunities keep the masses busy and nobody will try to commit any offence. Furthermore, anger is a major cause for offences, there should be regular counselling sessions for citizens to tackle it. For instance, the Indian government started giving free training for short term temper and stressed people, which reduced the crime rate significantly by 20 per cent. In conclusion, prison terms certainly instil fear in the minds of potential criminals and However, eradicating the root cause of crime by providing education and employment opportunities is a better option.