Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources, while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the years, billions of dollars have been spent on exploring the universe. Some people are against such explorations and believe that the amount is squandered and could be utilized in solving earth's many problems, while others completely support these investments. I am of the opinion that government should cease spending public funds on these useless quests. Many people support space researches believing that these studies could save humans. They feel that if explorers found a habitable planet, humans could possibly migrate or extract its resources in future when the earth becomes uninhabitable. Furthermore, researchers have already found water on Mars and further study could lead to fruitful results. Thus, to these supporters, public money is well-spent and these organisations should continue their scientific studies for the existence of mankind. On the other hand, however, many people are against the idea of investing in exploring the space as they feel that the funds could be spent on more meaningful causes. Having spent billions of public's money on sending astronauts, satellites, rockets and rovers into the outer world, the results achieved, so far are negligible. Instead of spending a huge portion of the budget on researching other planets, it could be used to provide better education, healthcare and housing facilities to the population here. Moreover, as private organisations such as Tesla, Amazon are heavily investing in space researchers, it is time for the government organizations to focus on their major duty of serving the citizens. In conclusion, I agree that funding research organizations should be discontinued and the focus should instead be on promoting better living conditions for everyone. Although researching the elements of the universe could possibly lead to the migration of the earth's population, this pursuit could be a waste of money if the outcomes are negligible and the funds could be better utilized if they serve humans on this planet.