Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, a new tendency has spread among the old public, they prefer to live in a foreign country when they reach retirement age. This new initiative is undoubtedly motivated by many advantages, whereas there are also numerous drawbacks to this, such as cultural differences and language barriers. First and foremost, retired people are often motivated to move on to countries where the weather is more pleasant. Indeed, it is well known that french persons choose to retire in other regions such as Morocco or Spain, where the temperature is always average. There are also other leitmotivs to this new trend, such as fewer taxes to pay and cheaper cost of living. Furthermore, those people may be attracted to move to foreign countries, in order to live another exciting adventure. The precited advantages represent solid arguments to change the country of residency. Despite all the aforementioned positive aspects, it is crystal clear that many drawbacks exist. People who took the path of moving to another nation assert that the most difficult challenge to surpass is the distance from family and beloved ones. Moreover, the cultural differences and the language barrier are surely other difficulties for them. In addition to that, retired persons could be reluctant to take this harsh decision because of health issues. For instance, they prefer to stay next to relatives that could take care of them. To sum up, changing the environment of living is without the shadow of a doubt a harsh decision to take. However, this may seem like a new challenge for aged folks and maybe one of the last decisions they take.