Scientific research should be primarily funded by governments instead of commercial companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Financial support is one of the most essential factors to start research projects. In my opinion, based on the subject of the project, their funding source can change. In other words, for the research which affects public health, security or equity, the governments should be the sponsor and for commercial and development cases, the private sector should be the financial supporter. On the one hand, some research is designed to resolve people’s problems and help them to overcome obstacles. They include a vast range from the environment to healthcare and security. For instance, the research for developing a vaccine for Covid-19 was a vital project to preserve people’s lives in the current global pandemic. So the right decision was to let them be funded by different governments which resulted in their success in a short period of time, contrary to the previously similar delayed projects which were sponsored by companies. In contrast, for the research which leads to a new facility, a new product or an improved technology, the ultimate goal is to build a new source of income. In this way, these projects are riskier and they will be more rewarding in case of success as well. it is rational to assign it to a commercial business. This can force the companies to design a better plan for the project in order to keep their revenue. Take 5G telecommunication technology as an example. Some companies invested in this project and after the completion, they benefited from its results. To conclude, whether the public or private sector should be the source of investment for research is based on the outcome and the target society affected by it. It is safer to assign sensitive research to authorities rather than companies.