In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are two options for young people to continue pursuing a higher education. Those are by enrolling a work-based training and attending a formal education through university. However, it is now very popular for high school graduates to choose the first one rather than the second. This situation has benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. Many moons ago, going to a university was a primary choice for pupils. Nevertheless, the advancement of technology is considered a major trigger of their choosing to enrol in work-based training rather than attending a university. One of the common reasons is the flexibility that is offered. This means students are able to learn anywhere and anytime. Chasing work-based training also provides trainees to receive materials from various experts. Not only you can attend a workshop based on your topic of preference, but you can also pick a course that is taught by say an Ivy League teacher. Moreover, after completing the training, all graduates will possibly receive an official certificate that is provided by the official institution. Therefore, it is not surprising if academy graduates choose to participate in work-based training, as it will lead to a bigger opportunity for work, especially in the practical field. Despite the obvious appeal, registering for technical training is a bit risky. Those who register will ultimately be considered as just high-school graduates because they do not go into a university so they will not be considered as Bachelor Degree’s holders. Although having a practical certificate from a work-based course will enhance the capability and open up the opportunity to work, these days almost all companies require at least a Bachelor's Degree when they seek a new employee. This means not holding a degree will narrow the opportunity to work field. Another one is if students want to specialize in the research field, they will particularly not be able to do so, as specializing in the research area also requires a Bachelor's Degree. To conclude, more and more secondary school graduates are choosing to take work-based training and practice rather than attending a University. Both choices are well-impactful, depending on the specialization that they will carry. Thus, they first need to know what they really intend for the future.