In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some nations around the world, youngsters are often told that they can succeed in everything if they work hard enough. Such a notion can be a positive motivation that keeps pushing the young generation forward, while it can cause detrimental effects on children's minds. On the one hand, the greatest advantage of motivating children that there is nothing they cannot do is a good approach to increase their self-confidence. Once confidence is built, children can keep persisting and stay positive, even during hardships. This is because they are aware of thrive outcomes of their actions. Additionally, this value helps students develop discipline and habits. This is is to say, kids will put all their efforts toward their desired aims continuously. For instance, many successful people usually have this kind of support from their parents. Therefore, an attitude is an important tool that makes individuals succeed. On the other hand, pushing youngsters can cause adverse consequences. When they believe that everything in their lives is possible, they tend to set unrealistic goals and eventually fall to pursue them which contradicts their beliefs. Many kids feel desperate and discouraged after experiencing failures. This could lead to anti-social behaviour in childhood or even worse, such as mental disorders. A solid example can be seen in Thailand where more than one- third of students are encouraged to be a doctor, parents always tell that the aspiration can be accomplished, once they are diligent enough. Although some success, many suffer from stress and have to take mental therapy. In summary, motivating the young generation to work hard is good support as well as a dangerous weapon that can cause them depression.