People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

One of the most serious concerns facing modern societies is that that it does not feel safe whether it is at home or out. This essay will discuss two of the main causes of this and will also highlight some potential measures which can be taken to tackle this situation. The main reason for not feeling safe is being afraid to be harmed, either physically or mentally. As often reported in the news recently, petty crime such as robbery and theft is on the rise due to increased poverty. It makes people unnecessarily worry about their lives and their belongings all the time whether they are at home or going out. Nevertheless, a high-stress level from the low-income issue could lead to a family fight or even domestic violence in which the household member can become the victims. These factors substantiate the fact that people can feel unsafe both at home and in public. However, there are several solutions that I believe can at least ameliorate the situation. Firstly, the government should provide proper technological devices that could surveillance each public area such as the CCTV camera that is able to contact the help centre directly. Secondly, neighbours should be eyes and ears for one another to offer help and support by reaching out if spotted with security issues or mental health concerns. As a result, not only do people feel safer but they also know that they can reach out for help. In conclusion, though poverty could lead to several more issues which are the causes of not feeling safe, I strongly believe that providing the right facility and being a good neighbour can be the right solutions to this problem.