Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views

It is often argued that conducting an international sports event contributes to several benefits to the nation, while others oppose this notion. From my point of view, although hosting a large sports event can gain a vast amount of income, the pre-processing cost and the environmental loss are incomparable. On the one hand, having an international athletic tournament considerably accelerates economic growth. As the massive number of athletes and tourists flows into the country, money from them is spent on local products and many services which generate revenue for the nation, thus businesses have opportunities to develop profit. This is evident according to British Broadcasting Corporation Japan that during the 3 months of the Olympic games, the number of local restaurants and hotels’ customers increased by 35 per cent. Therefore, holding an international athletic contest leads to economic expansion. On the other hand, a huge amount of money is spent on sports competition preparation. In other words, the government of the host country has to allocate a large portion of the budget for building new sports centres and athlete accommodations. For example, China spent around 375 million dollars on the Olympic games in 2008 in order to build an enormous stadium and enhance landscapes. As a result, China stayed in a difficult financial position for a while. From my point of view, it is true that tourism and the economy are better, as a number of travellers come. However, holding an athletic event creates detrimental effects on the environment, such as more refuse being disposed of and exhaust gas from transportation being released into the atmosphere. In summary, economic growth can be seen from holding a sports event. Nevertheless, other expenses in particular preparation costs and environmental costs should be taken into consideration.