How does social media affect us? State your opinion.

It is 2021. People of all ages are hooked on social media with the constant urge to compete to find out who is better, who has the best body, best clothes, most followers/largest platform to the point where it's toxic. People are constantly trying to compare themselves to others they see online, forgetting that it's all fake, eating themselves alive, developing disorders such as anorexia, depression, body dysmorphia, and worst of all, suicidal thoughts. People are blinded by numbers on the top of their page, constantly competing for clout or the satisfaction of having more followers than someone else. Social media was initially created to be a place to share your moments with the world, interact with people, and educate yourself. What is it now? A toxic and harmful place. I am not saying it's dangerous for everyone. No. It is, however, harmful for vulnerable and impressionable people because of their weak willpower to control themselves. Blinded by someone else's body or displayed money, people forget to see their own and appreciate it. They are desperate for others' validation rather than their own. People go after unrealistic standards such as a perfect face, height, posture, life. It's all an illusion everyone fails to see. With trends coming and going, people tend to lose themselves trying to keep up. It's a hustle trying to get with the newest style or visit the newly famous selfie spot. Having said this, I am not trying to prove that social media and solely social media is ruining people's lives. It's also what is called peer pressure that's adding to social media's harm. Kids of all ages pressure each other to do this or to say that promising that it will go viral or that they will look "cool" doing so. Take vaping, for example. It became overly popular thanks to social media influencers and peer pressure. Saying "it's not that bad" or "she's/hes doing it" or "it's "cool" and dong it for an Instagram picture or just because your friends are pressuring you to does not mean it's safe to do. In conclusion, social media affects us and our lives in many ways, whether it's good or bad. It may boost your confidence or cause insecurities. Either way, it's good to detach from it once in a while and go back to reality.