The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have appeared endless discussions over the disastrous effects that smoking could bring. It is common knowledge that this habit does not only harm smokers but also people in their surroundings including their families and friends. This essay will analyse the reasons why people maintain this terrible habit further and offer several ways that help to tackle the problem. First and foremost, what should be put in priority is undoubtedly the causes of people’s continuation in smoking. Tobacco is undeniably one of the most ubiquitous addictive substances as it is legal and can be easily obtained. The majority of stimulants usages like Sativa, ketamine, cocaine and other kinds of drugs is against the law of any country. On the other hand, consuming a cigarette is not an act of regulations violation, while it still provides the consumers with a light increase of activities in their nervous system. Furthermore, one is capable of buying a pack of cigarettes in a random convenience store or supermarket. Tobacco’s ready-to-buy characteristic is apparently another cause of its continual usage in today’s society. Secondly, without a doubt, there are numerous solutions that governments can apply in order to minimize the presence of this social catastrophe. It is reckoned that the most effective way to cope with any social problem is to target financial issues. The establishment of a higher tax on imported cigarettes as well as ones that are produced internally would result in a higher-end price. Consequently, the products are without a doubt out of reach for a considerable number of constant smokers in the community. In addition, raising people’s awareness of the damage that smoking causes by sticking photos of lung cancer, diabetes and other smoking-relevant diseases on every pack of cigarettes. This has already been done by many countries and is significantly beneficial, which is highly recommended for others. In conclusion, although it is indisputable that smoking results in a lot of poor influences on society, many people keep this as their routine since it is not against the law and within reach. However, the issue is possible to be deducted if governments can raise the tax on it as well as citizens’ awareness of its harms.