Many governments invest a great deal of money in space research. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Space has been a great mystery since the early ages of human existence, and people have always tried to uncover them. Many countries around the world spent vast sums of money on space exploration each year. In this essay, I will discuss two benefits of such policy, which are finding new planets to live in, at times of necessity and providing people with more scientific information about earth. Meanwhile, there are some drawbacks regarding this decision that will be discussed below. One of the major plus points of space exploration might be the rapid environmental damages that lead humans to search for new places to live. This stems from the fact that many natural resources are being destroyed due to climate change or deforestation. Consequently, it is rational to consider the threat seriously and try to find an alternative to reside the next generation in it. Another benefit could be introduced as the data we can gather via satellites about planet earth. Examples of such information could be used in weather predictions and detecting possible changes in the number of icebergs melt in the south pole. Such positive aspects justify the budget funded by the government in the space research subject. There are also some negative points in sending people and lunch satellites into space, the first of which is it costs countries a lot. Each year a huge amount of money is invested in space exploration which could be used to fund more crucial subjects such as cancer treatment or it could be used to irradicate hunger in underdeveloped countries. The second drawback could be known as a lack of focus on solving environmental issues. A considerable budget is required to develop projects with the aim of tackling such matters. Carbon dioxide emission, for instance, could be eliminated through developing projects to provide an alternative source of energy for factories. Nevertheless, funding space projects avoid allocating money to more vital problems on earth. In conclusion, although some advantages are gained from defining space research projects, the most important of which is seeking a new home for human beings and gaining data to forecast future environmental incidents, it also has some disadvantages such as lack of enough money to promote health in society and not having enough focus on matters happening on earth.