Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution. Some people believe the Government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to studies, the primary source of pollution is the transportation of goods and people. While some believe the government should be in charge, others consider that it is the responsibility of individuals. In this essay, I will discuss both views and state my opinion. On the one hand, people who put the blame on the government may cite the carelessness in collecting data on how polluted the environment is due to all kinds of transportation as the main reason. Indeed, by collecting and publicizing it, the citizens can be aware of the risk that the entire nation has to face. Additionally, when analyzing the statistics of pollution, the government can also come up with proper strategies. For instance, if there is a great amount of carbon dioxide released into the air, then a reduction in vehicles is required. On the other hand, although it is partly the fault of the government, it is undeniable that this escalating issue is closely related to individual consciousness. Specifically, the government ’s remedies will be useless without the coordination of people, which means that the people must follow the government ’s lead in order to address this problem. Take Japan as a prime example, when the encouragement of using public transport came into effect, a majority of citizens then took the buses and subways in lieu of private vehicles. Consequently, Japan is now a country with the lowest emission in the world. In conclusion, there is no doubt the government plays a crucial role in solving the environmental pollution problems. However, the population’s consciousness is also equally pivotal.