According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

In this fast-moving world, the Internet plays a vital role in everyone’s life. It is common nowadays, a lot of time has been used on the internet, and thus, few amounts of time have been spent with real people. Some segments of society reckon that not only the internet but also there are other decisive ways to do communication. Although there are arguments on both sides, I agree that detrimental effect has been observed on society by increasing usage of the internet. Even these beliefs will be discussed in support of my personal stance in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there is no doubt for some people who are preferred to use cyberspace. Firstly, they believe that the internet is the biggest source of communication and people have been connected across the globe as it was quite intricate a decade ago. Moreover, with the help of the internet, we can talk at any place and at any time with anybody so in that way, we can save our precious time. For instance, one recent study conducted by the education sector revealed that at the recent time, taking education in foreign countries is became normal as students can do video calls with their parents so that they do not feel lonely in unknown places. On the flip side, while looking through the glasses of another perspective, it is observed that people, especially the younger generation, spend hours of time online, chatting and on social websites. It can also have a negative impact on communities and they are not mixing with their neighbourhood, as a consequence of this, they feel alone and leads to be an isolated family. The classic example often cited is that long time usage of the internet is being given substantial side effects to the human body like obesity, mentally depression, blindness and hypertension. To recapitulate the above points, I agree that there are other essential ways to do communication rather than the internet. I believe that although the main aim is to do social interaction face to face, there are clearly further benefits of the internet.