Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while other would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to the purpose of the jailing system, whether it has to provide shrift or be the place, where sentenced individuals can experience a positive change. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then give my opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are people who claim that the benefits of simply punishing prisoners outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that these people are here for a reason; there are murderers, rapists, and thieves, who know no language but the language of violence, thus, their punishment should be vile too. Moreover, it might bring relief to the victims or the victim's relatives, knowing the villain received exactly what he deserved. On the other hand, it is also possible to make an opposing case. It is often argued that rehabilitation should be the main focus of the jailing system. People often have this opinion because usually these people come from the lowest layers of society and committed a crime on the ground of despair. In jail they have plenty of time to think of what they did, reflect on their behaviour, as they do community work or learn new hobbies. As well as this, the prison staff can work on criminals' behaviours, help them to understand the consequences of their actions by involving therapists and social workers. A particularly good example here is the creation of rehabilitation groups that tend to help prisoners to work on their child traumas, how it has affected their life and how they can cope with it. In conclusion, I believe both sides have their own merits respectively. On balance, however, I believe that it is wrong to combat violence with violence. I feel that jails should become more people -oriented and focus on rehabilitation rather than punishment. Given this situation, it seems that rebuilding the mindsets of the delinquents can positively affect society as they will be set free.