Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that unpaid community service provides students with many valuable skills (communication, planning,...). This is why it has been suggested that it should become a compulsory part of high school programs. Most of the universities are providing opportunities to gain work experience but it is spontaneous activities. From my perspective, giving students to participate or work in community service can provide them with a lot of benefits which will be discussed in the following paragraph. To commence with, as a consequence of receiving compulsory work opportunities or community organizations, students will be inspired to think more creatively. Taking part in compulsory work activities will help them develop skills including responsibility, tolerance, and empathy which not only enhance their employability at a later stage of life but will also look good on their job applications. Additionally, by learning that earning and spending money is not as easy, they will gain a greater appreciation for work and money so that they can spend them in more practical ways. Furthermore, they have to know what their parents and adults work so they can help them with the housework. Conversely, the provision of community -beneficial services can make cities a better place to live and improve the lives of everyone. In addition, people helping the elderly and keeping public gardens clean can make cities a better place to live for everyone. Moreover, instead of being bored and doing nothing in their house, any kind of charity word will control students’ healthy balance and exercise, and make them more self-motivated. In conclusion, putting unpaid community service in high school programs is an interesting idea. With the positive effect of its on the public and the pursuit of educational goals, I think it deserves to become a compulsory program.