Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is natural that the competition between local businesses and large supermarkets is out of reach. Additionally, these newly industrialized markets, not only have regional food but also international products. Likewise, it is questioned if the closure of these small shops would have a major impact on communities. Some say it will clearly be their death. In my opinion, neighbourhood commerce should search for better quality products in order to distinguish themselves. Such as selling items that large commercial buildings do not have. For example, having these ground floor convenience stores, Tabac shops, traditional handmade materials and toys allows people to experience the neighbourhood´s life. After all, this option provides a better relationship between neighbours and, at the same time, helps some small scale businesses. On the contrary, if people choose to buy in supermarkets from going to the next -door store, there will be significant consequences, not only in the industry itself along in the way time is spent. For instance, from a more practical perspective, we will be able to get together all the products we need in only one place. Besides, it decreased the number of times we leave our homes. In consequence, the communication that once before was needed, either helping someone on the street or being more aware of wish others lives, will no longer be required. To summarize, times are changing but we still have the choice to protect some traditional habits. Beyond that, the evolution, in one way, could be very useful but, at the same time, it should not cost the wellbeing of local communities.