Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they may have on our health and on society. Government should introduce measures to restrict ownership to those who need them for their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is known that the usage of mobile phones increased immensely in the last few years. Therefore people discuss whether the government should start to restrict ownership of mobile phones to protect us from harmful effects on our health and on society. On the one hand, owning a smartphone has many advantages. Firstly, it can save lives. For example, if someone has a car accident and got stuck in a deserted area a rescue service may be called. People claim that it gives a sense of security. Furthermore, there are no public telephones anymore and the ones that exist are usually vandalised. Other people argue that they feel like never being in touch with everyone when not having an electronic device. Their social life would be restricted. Moreover, it is not proven yet whether mobile phones can really damage our health. So, the general opinion is that people should be free to decide to use them if they want. It is their life after all. On the other hand, many people contradict these advantages. To start with, mobile phones may threaten our lives. For instance, nowadays, many fatal car accidents occur, because half the people seem to be talking on their mobile phones while driving along. Secondly, radio waves emitted by mobile phones are frequencies that interfere with sensitive equipment in hospitals and aeroplanes. Some claim it would only take one careless person to cause an accident with disastrous consequences. Apart from that, experts even point out that electronic devices use may affect brain development in children and teenagers, which is the group using them the most. In conclusion, the use of mobile phones is widespread and there are clearly many disadvantages in restricting their usage. But in my opinion, the advantages overweigh them and that is why I agree with the statement of introducing measures to restrict ownership in order to prevent society from harmful health problems.