In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

These days, in many western countries, students choose to take a “gap year ” between finishing high school and enrolling at university. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this phenomenon; however, this essay will argue that the advantages completely outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, students who choose to take a gap year experience many benefits over those who go straight into higher education. For one thing, they have a chance to see the world and mature somewhat. Many high school students lead sheltered lives and simply are not ready to deal with university, but taking a year to work or travel can help them to grow up and prepare for the challenges that lie ahead. In addition, they may be able to earn some money by working for a year. University can be extremely expensive, and having earned a year ’s salary might help to mitigate the worries that come with such a financial burden. The disadvantages are few and comparatively minor. Those who disagree with the concept of a gap year argue that it is a waste of time as students should go to university first in order to complete their education. However, this is based upon a misunderstanding of the benefits that can come from a well-spent year between school and university. As explained in the previous paragraph, students may develop certain useful skills that can actually benefit them at university, such as maturity or financial security. In conclusion, the advantages of students taking a year off prior to starting higher education significantly outweigh the disadvantages. It can allow them to develop important skills that may give them benefits not shared by their peers.