Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some researchers are convinced that pupils should study a foreign language once they are at primary schools instead of secondary school. This essay will explain how the positive sides of doing so outweigh the negative ones. Firstly, learning a foreign language at an early age is very easy for some primary students since they are less afraid of making mistakes. This gives them an opportunity to use the language in their daily life without being judged by others as they think that it is normal for the children to make mistakes when they practice the language. Also, once kids acquire another language at a very young age, it seems that the brain works so well when it comes to memorizing the words. As their brain is still fresh to input the vocabularies. For example, my cousin, a primary student, studied English at 4 years old, and this led him to be able to speak the language in daily conversation after having studied for about 3 months. Thus, giving a chance for pupils to learn a foreign language at an early stage seems so promising. However, there are some drawbacks gained by children once they study a foreign language at a very young age. Firstly, it will be confusing for students who are not given support by their parents to use the language at home. That is to say, they are questioning the importance of learning the language, while it is not used in their life. Moreover, there are a number of primary schools still teaching in a traditional way. In other words, the teachers tend to teach students how to use the language for answering questions rather than for daily needs. As a result, the students are likely to be desperate to study it. For instance, I personally learned how to speak English in primary school. It turned out that I began to hate the language because I found it was very hard to answer English questions provided by the teachers. In conclusion, acquiring language at primary schools provides privileges for the students since they are not going to be criticized for making errors in using language. However, if the students are taught by methods that they are not happy in doing so, it will lead students to give up studying it